Taking a chance with this blog and Chocolate Chip Cookies

Seasoning everything to perfection, there shouldn’t be a day that goes by without you adding a little spice to your life.  No one wants their life to pass them by with it being bland or boring……or at least I don’t.  Shake things up and try something new whether it be a new hair style, a new blog, a new yoga or workout class, or maybe even just trying a new recipe.

photo (9)
I tried to accomplish something new  this past week by testing out a different chocolate-chip cookie recipe. I always seem to have bad luck with cookie recipes, even the one on the back of the Nestle Toll House chocolate chip bag! I don’t know what my issue is, but past cookie recipes either turn out too flat and under cooked or hard and burnt.  I went out on a limb, hoping for the best and decided to make a recipe I found on Pinterest.Chocolate Chip Cookies

 I did alter a few things from the original recipe but the cookies turned out great!  A soft and chewy center with crisp edges won me over. I passed them out to fellow friends  and family members and received rave reviews.  The chocolate chips even stayed gooey for a few days after so they seemed like they just came out of the oven. All you need is a tall glass of milk and a napkin to finish off a batch of these heavenly cookies. (Excuse the horrible quality of photos from my phone as I am trying to locate my actual camera.)

Bakery Chocolate Chip Cookies (source)

Makes about 60 medium to large sized cookies.

Ingredients

  • 3 1/2 cubes real butter (I used 3 1/2 sticks of salted butter) 
  • 1 1/2 c. sugar
  • 2 1/4 c. brown sugar packed
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 Tbsp. vanilla
  • 6 c. flour
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 Tbsp. baking powder (I used 1.5 – 2 TBsp.)
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 bag small chocolate chips (1 lb.) (I used 3 cups of semisweet chocolate chips) 

Instructions

  • Cream butter and sugar, add eggs and vanilla, mix well. Mix dry ingredients and add to sugar mixture. Add chocolate chips. Scoop with small ice cream scoop (Shape into ball then lightly flatten into a rounded disk – don’t make it completely flat). Bake at 325 for 8-9 minutes.  ( I baked the cookies at 375 until they were lightly brown on top. I also placed the dough in the fridge in between batches and noticed that the cookies kept there form and browned better then when I didn’t.)

 *Note: The comments and reviews in this post are of my opinion and fellow taste testers. Nestle Toll House did not endorse this post.*

Leave a Reply

